Foundation Favourites👩🏻‍💼

So my skin lately has been an absolute pain. Nothing seems to work so luckily I have a stock of different foundations which I can mix to help cover my dreadful skin.

fullsizerender-15My favourite is definitely The Body Shop Moisture Foundation. This is a fairly cheap foundation at just £15 a bottle. I normally use this in the shade 05 but I recently went in and got my skin rematched and I actually now need 04, I haven’t tried this yet so I can’t say if it works the same as the darker shade. I hope it does as I do love how the foundation applies. My skin has a few dry patches and this covers it without making it too dewy.

fullsizerender-12My second favourite foundation would be my Benefit Flawless Oxygen Wow. This product is more expensive than Body Shop at £26.50 a bottle. The shade I have is Ivory, this is quite pale on me so sometimes I have to mix them with darker foundations to get a better coverage. Even though when my skin fades paler in the winter period, this is the perfect match for me and it doesn’t dry out my skin. I first tried this as a sample a few years ago but I was given the wrong shade and it made my skin rather patchy. I think this is a product which is hit and miss.

fullsizerender-7The foundation I rely on after these two is my NYX HD Studio Photogenic Foundation. Out of all of the foundations,  this is the cheapest at £12.50.
The shade I have is HDF101 Nude, this isn’t one I use on a daily base as I feel it can be quite dewy whereas I prefer a matte finish. At just £12.50 though I can always purchase a matte powder on top. I first tried this one when I went into Boots as I had heard so many amazing reviews, however I don’t think this is the best for my skin. I think this would be because of the dewiness of the foundation and its not the style I prefer, it might be better for someone who prefers that finish.

fullsizerender-10A new foundation I purchased was Stila‘s illuminating liquid foundation, this is normally around £25 but I managed to grab this in the sale for just £15, the shade I went for was 60 watts. This one is one that I’m still not 100% sure on, its quite a different formula to what I’m used to. 60 Watts seems to be quite a good shade for me though as I tend to be quite funny with shades on my skin as I often vary in shades but so far this seems to be a good one for me. I will keep you posted on that though.

fullsizerender-13My go to foundation moisturiser is my Kiko MilanoSunshine” DD Cream spf 30 in shade Light. I purchased this in their sale at £6.40, normally its around £12. This is a great one for when I have a slight tan and it also moisturises my skin at the same time, this is one I tend to wear in summer because its just the perfect match with the spf 30. I would recommend this moisturiser for someone who just wants a natural look throughout the day especially if you’re going away somewhere and want a moisturiser which will protect your skin.

 

fullsizerender-17Obviously I have to include the foundation I own but I am not too fond of which is my MAC Studio Fix Fluid in shade NW25, this cost me £22. This is my least favourite, just because it can make me look a bit orange but that is definitely down to skin tone matching. Even though I’m not a massive fan, it is just because the shade doesn’t exactly match my skin tone but the coverage is amazing. I tend to use NYX Pro Foundation Mixer, which at £7.50 is amazing, it helps lighten the foundation so I can use it more. These are available to darken foundation as well.

 

I have since purchased The Body Shop fresh nude foundation in “Hawaii Macadamia 024“, I have tried this as a sample and absolutely loved this but after I have tried this properly I will post a review for you!

What are your foundation favourites? Are there any you’d recommend? Let me know!

Until next time

K

x

 

Leave a Reply

